Scotiabank Dance Centre

Malaise dans la civilisation

Four people enter a theatre. At times fearful, at other times amused, they wander around like tourists, clumsily playing and testing each other under the inquisitive gaze of the audience. This small sample of humanity, tightly knit by improbable situations and mundane accidents, gradually transforms the stage’s empty space into a universe overflowing with possibilities… and absurdity. 

By creating a strange, playful vivarium of sorts, Alix Dufresne and Étienne Lepage’s acerbic and witty dramaturgy rattles social and theatrical conventions. Living somewhere between performance and philosophical thinkspace, Malaise dans la civilisation reveals exuberant beings flirting with the limits of moral values. Impulses are unleashed, rules are broken, and human nature is laid bare. The results are unusual, hilarious and disturbing! 

Credits

Production Étienne Lepage (Quebec)
Direction Alix Dufresne, Étienne Lepage
Text Étienne Lepage
Cast and co-creators Maxime Genois, Jonathan Lachlan Stewart, Debbie Lynch-White, Alice Moreault
Set and costume design Odile Gamache
Lighting design Leticia Hamaoui
Music Robert Marcel Lepage
Technical direction Seoyoung Park
Executive production DLD
Coproduction Festival TransAmériques + L’ANCRE – Théâtre Royal (Charleroi) + Maison de la culture Marie-Uguay + Espace Le vrai monde ? + Salle de diffusion de Parc Extension + DLD

With the contribution of Les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie

604.736.2616
info@seizieme.ca

226-1555, West 7th avenue
Vancouver, BC. V6J 1S1

We are fortunate to live, create and gather on the traditional and ancestral unceded lands of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish) and səl̓ilw̓ ətaʔɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) First Nations

Box Office

Monday to Friday, 10am – 5pm
at 604.736.2616

Online box office here

Buy your tickets

Scotiabank Dance Centre

Malaise dans la civilisation

Quatre individus débarquent dans un théâtre. Tour à tour craintif·ve·s ou amusé·e·s, ils et elles déambulent à la façon de touristes, jouent et se testent maladroitement, sous l’œil inquisiteur du public. Cet échantillon d’humanité, soudé par des situations improbables et de petits accidents ordinaires, transforme graduellement l’espace vide de la scène en un univers débordant de possibles… et de ridicule.

En créant une sorte de vivarium étrange et ludique, Alix Dufresne et Étienne Lepage secouent par une écriture de plateau mordante les conventions autant sociales que théâtrales. Entre performance et laboratoire philosophique, Malaise dans la civilisation donne à observer des êtres exubérants qui s’aventurent à la limite des valeurs morales. Les pulsions se libèrent, les règles sont transgressées, et la nature humaine est mise à nu. Insolite, désopilant et dérangeant !

Crédits

Production Étienne Lepage (Québec)
Mise en scène Alix Dufresne, Étienne Lepage
Texte Étienne Lepage
Interprétation et cocréation Maxime Genois, Jonathan Lachlan Stewart, Debbie Lynch-White, Alice Moreault
Scénographie et costumes Odile Gamache
Éclairages Leticia Hamaoui
Musique Robert Marcel Lepage
Direction technique Seoyoung Park
Production déléguée DLD
Coproduction  Festival TransAmériques + L’ANCRE – Théâtre Royal (Charleroi) + Maison de la culture Marie-Uguay + Espace Le vrai monde ? + Salle de diffusion de Parc Extension + DLD

Avec la contribution de Les Rendez-vous de la Francophonie

604.736.2616
info@seizieme.ca

226-1555, 7e Avenue Ouest
Vancouver, C.-B. V6J 1S1

Nous avons la chance de vivre, de créer et de nous rassembler sur les territoires traditionnels, ancestraux et non cédés des Premières Nations xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish) et səl̓ilw̓ ətaʔɬ (Tsleil-Waututh)

Billetterie

ouverte du lundi au vendredi
de 10h00 à 17h00

604.736.2616

Billetterie en ligne ici

Achetez vos billets