Ceci est une histoire d’amour

Mark and Anna are made for each other. They’re destined to fall in love. Everything unfolds as in a novel until Mark becomes aware of the presence of a mysterious narrator who dictates each and every one of his thoughts and movements. Determined to retake control, Mark and Anna rebel and find themselves thrown into an alternate reality. What happens when one decides to write their own story?

Somewhere between philosophical tale and romantic comedy, this fantastical play brims with humour and frankness; it questions the idea of free will as well as the role of destiny in our lives. How does the culture in which we are immersed influence our vision and expectations of love? In upending the accepted narrative forms, the author cuts to the heart of what constitutes the first stirrings of love.

Credits

Production Théâtre la Seizième
Text James Gordon King
Translation Gilles Poulin-Denis
Director Marie Farsi
Cast Ismael Ndiaye, Gabrielle Nebrida-Pepin and Sean Sonier

Main themes
  • Self discovery
  • Love and friendship
  • Literature
  • Fiction and reality
  • Destiny and free will
Terms

Grade level Grades 9 to 12
Length About 55 minutes + 10 minutes Q&A
Cost Early bird (until Nov. 18): $910 (+ GST); Regular: $935 (+ GST)
Number of students Maximum 350
Venue Your theatre, your gym or any other space that can accommodate a show and its audience
Educational material Guide provided 2 weeks before the performance

604.736.2616
info@seizieme.ca

226-1555, West 7th avenue
Vancouver, BC. V6J 1S1

We are fortunate to live, create and gather on the traditional and ancestral unceded lands of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish) and səl̓ilw̓ ətaʔɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) First Nations

Box Office

Monday to Friday, 10am – 5pm
at 604.736.2616

Online box office here

Buy your tickets

Ceci est une histoire d’amour

Mark et Anna sont faits l’un pour l’autre. Ils sont même destinés à tomber amoureux. Tout se déroule comme dans un roman, jusqu’à ce que Mark prenne conscience de la présence d’un mystérieux narrateur, qui dicte chacun de ses mouvements et chacune de ses pensées. Déterminés à reprendre le contrôle, Mark et Anna se rebellent et se retrouvent plongés dans une nouvelle réalité. Mais que se passe-t-il quand chacun décide d’écrire sa propre histoire ?

Entre fable philosophique et comédie romantique, cette pièce pleine de fantaisie s’empare avec humour et franchise de la question du libre arbitre et du destin dans nos vies. Comment la culture dans laquelle nous baignons construit-elle notre vision et nos attentes de l’amour ? En déstabilisant les codes de la structure narrative, l’auteur défait et démêle le récit, jusqu’à toucher à l’essence-même des premiers émois amoureux.

Crédits

Production Théâtre la Seizième
Texte James Gordon King
Traduction Gilles Poulin-Denis
Mise en scène  Marie Farsi
Interprétation Ismael Ndiaye, Gabrielle Nebrida-Pepin et Sean Sonier

Thématiques
  • La découverte de soi
  • L’amour et l’amitié
  • La littérature
  • La fiction et le réel
  • Le destin et le libre arbitre
Modalités

Âge De la 9e à la 12e année
Prix Tarif lève-tôt (jusqu'au 18 nov.): 910 $ (+ taxes) ; Tarif régulier: 935 $ (+ taxes)
Durée Environ 55 minutes + 10 minutes de questions-réponses
Nombre d'élèves Maximum 350 élèves
Lieu Dans votre théâtre, votre gymnase ou tout autre espace pouvant accueillir un spectacle et son public
Matériel pédagogique Guide fourni 2 semaines avant la représentation

604.736.2616
info@seizieme.ca

226-1555, 7e Avenue Ouest
Vancouver, C.-B. V6J 1S1

Nous avons la chance de vivre, de créer et de nous rassembler sur les territoires traditionnels, ancestraux et non cédés des Premières Nations xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish) et səl̓ilw̓ ətaʔɬ (Tsleil-Waututh)

Billetterie

ouverte du lundi au vendredi
de 10h00 à 17h00

604.736.2616

Billetterie en ligne ici

Achetez vos billets